Victor
Brauner

Victor Brauner

Victor Brauner was born in Piatra Neamt, the 15th of June 1903, and died the 12th of March 1966.

His younth was marked by two important facts: first, by the revolt in Moldavia and his father spiritism sessions , then by the memory and the excitation provoked by the Comet Halley passing in 1911, whom, for many, was announcing the end of the world.

During his first trip in Paris in 1925, Brauner discovered Giorgio de Chirico's work and the surrealists. But it is only en 1932, when he moved to Paris, that he met them thanks to Yves Tanguy. Brauner began a series of works on the enucleate eye.

In november 1940, his life's precarity forced Brauner to get used to this and to use the few materials that he had. Thus, Victor Brauner painted with wax, material at which he gave a alchimical value, even esoteric.



News

Victor
Brauner

Victor Brauner

Victor Brauner est né à Piatra Neamt le 15 juin 1903 et est mort à Paris le 12 mars 1966.

Sa jeu­nesse est mar­quée par deux faits impor­tants : d?une part, la révolte en Moldavie et les séan­ces de spi­ri­tisme de son père aux­quel­les il assiste en secret, et, d?autre part, le sou­ve­nir laissé par l?étrange exci­ta­tion pro­vo­quée par le pas­sage de la comète de Halley en 1911, qui, pour beau­coup, annon­çait la fin du monde.

Un pre­mier voyage à Paris, en 1925, fait décou­vrir à Brauner Giorgio De Chirico et les sur­réa­lis­tes. Mais ce n?est qu?en 1932, ins­tallé à Paris, qu?il prend contact avec ces der­niers grâce à Yves Tanguy. Brauner com­mence une série de tableaux autour du sym­bole de l??il énucléé.

En novem­bre 1940, la pré­ca­rité de sa vie le contraint à s?adap­ter et à uti­li­ser le peu de maté­riau dont il dis­pose. Ainsi, Victor Brauner peint à la cire, matière à laquelle il donne une valeur alchi­mi­que, voire ésotérique.



Actualités